Jack Rose 16.2M – 1998

November 26, 1998

The annual (though ended after this year) Jack Rose 16.2 miler was run every Thanksgiving on the Cal State University, Long Beach campus.  Basically, it consisted of 4 – 4 mile (and change) laps around the campus, with a large uphill and large downhill component.

I recognized a local FAST runner, Gilbert Salazar, in the race.  My goal (since I would have a PR automatically, never having raced 16.2 miles before) was not to get lapped by Gilbert… and maybe to break 2 hours (since I had previously done 8 miles in some half marathons in under an hour).

My first loop was 27 minutes, my second was 30 minutes, my third was 31 minutes.

Just as I started on my 4th loop, Gilbert finished.  Whew.  Made it.

My last loop was another 31 minutes, and I missed the 2 hour barrier by 24 seconds.  Oh well.  I did get 3rd in my age group, which got me the valuable prize of two coffee cups with a rose on them.  Also, all participants got some somewhat stale orange Oreos.

Some of the runners were so spread out, that they started the awards early and would hand out the awards AS the runners came across the finish line.

Afterwards, I drove up to Carpinteria and celebrated Thanksgiving with my cousins and their friends.

Leave a Reply

