Hillsea 7.57M – 2000

May 6, 2000

My 4th race in 8 days!

I woke up somewhat late for this race (felt under the weather) and didn’t get out of the house until 15 minutes before the race started (and it’s about a 15 minute drive).  However, since I am still only 29 years old, and my race starting time is with the M24-34 group, I didn’t start until 8:30am (technically, I started at 8:22am, because there was no first 8:00am group and they adjusted the time accordingly).  Additionally, I did not have to complete any registration forms, because of the deal I established with the race director in exchange for compiling the results and posting them online.

In the overall scheme of the race (runners start at different times and whoever finishes first wins), I was middle of the pack (67/124), but somehow managed to nab 2nd place in my division (M24-29) and run a PR of 59:07!  Weird, how you can have a bad day and still have a good result.  Or maybe a lot of people didn’t show up, because everyone I knew at the race won an award.

Leave a Reply

