Tamalpa Challenge 4.612M – 2000

November 4, 2000

I was home in the Bay Area for a visit, and some members of GVH were running the Tamalpa Challenge 4.612 (don’t know why they had the mileage so precise).

With any official cross-country event, the placing works out a little differently.  Rather than having a lot of age group awards, the place you finish in is part of your team total.  The first five finishers’ places are added together for a total score.  If the total is tied, then whichever team has the fastest 6th finisher is the winner.

By virtue of my 58th place finish, I did not factor into GVH’s overall point scoring (I might have been 11th).  I ran a decent 35:40 (PR for the unusual distance), but I am pretty much just biding my time before next weekend’s Long Beach Marathon.

Leave a Reply

