Lomita 5000 – 2001

June 24, 2001

My 4th race in 4 days!

Lomita is a small community near Torrance.  One of my college roommates from my junior year was from Torrance, but his phone bills always said “Lomita,” so I guess that he was really from Lomita instead.

The Lomita 5000 was a cute little event and had all sorts of interesting giveaways for us, including a squeeze coin purse, a business card holder (which I still have but is not recognizable as such), and pencils.  There was a citywide festival or fair going on, so you could buy used books from the library, and all sorts of small town homey nice things.

Unfortunately, there was just a 5K, so all of the really competitive people showed up for the run.  I ran a 20:42, which was good enough for 13th place in my division (though 42nd in the race).
REMEMBER – do the really small races!

Leave a Reply

