ThomBob Kayak/Run Relay – 2001

July 14, 2001

Todd Byers and I teamed up for my 3rd ThomBob Kayak run relay.  In terms of the race, I was a little faster on the Kayak (and course was 0.25 longer) – seems I know how to wrap my arms properly and have a little more stamina.  On the run, I was 0:01 slower than last year, so in the long run, I was slightly faster.

The funny part of this story was that both Todd and I left immediately after the race to go to the airport.  I was heading up to Sacramento to visit friends in Davis, and Todd was flying up to Seattle (also to visit friends, but primarily) to run the Bare Buns Fun Run.  Since our flights were leaving within an hour of each other, I gave Todd a ride to the airport.

However, a week later, a number of people kept asking me how my race was.  Not how well I did, but what it was like.  Well, since I went up to visit my friends and I didn’t run a race, I wasn’t sure how to respond.  Oh… no… I didn’t travel with Todd and do the Bare Buns Fun Run.  Me?  Really?

Leave a Reply

