Sunset in the Park 2.8M/4.8M – 2002

August 22, 2002

Another free race by Finishline (and a lot of typing results work, too!) in Huntington Beach Central Park.  I have now had some time to get myself back up to speed vis-a-vis fitness level.

To do this, I run a hash on Monday, do speed/hill work in Signal Hill on Tuesday, run 5 miler with AREC on Wednesday, do the Long Beach hash on Thursday, take Friday off and do a long trail run on Saturday.  None of this is speed work, but the strings of back-to-back runs and consistency gets me back to the pre-Skyline level.

The morning of Sunset in the Park, I woke up with a bit of a sore-throat (fortunately, the race is in the evening), but unfortunately, it is a pretty warm day.

Race #1 is probably the most crowded I have ever seen the 2.8 miler (over 150 people).  I finished in 20:41, a very middle-of-the-road result for this race.

Race #2 was less sparsely attended and I took it the beginning a lot slower, and really took the uphill super easy, and then picked it up on the downhill and for the rest of the race (which is mostly flat after the big hill at the beginning).  I finished in 36:37, which is a more consistent pace (usually I have a drop off of a minute/mile).  I got 2nd in my age division in this race, but I was super pooped.

Leave a Reply

