Boeing 5K (8) – 2003

August 11, 2003

For the 3rd day in a row, I am running another race (but there are no races on Tuesday (!)).

Todd Byers and I ran together most of the way.  He has always been consistently faster than I am, but on June 1st of this year, on his 40th birthday, he decided to run the San Diego Rock’n’Roll Marathon (his 150th marathon overall) barefoot.  For the most part since that day, he has been running barefoot on everything.  I’m not certain if it has slowed him down because it is harder to run barefoot, if he is injured, or if he is enjoying racing without worrying about being overly competitive.

In any case, we enjoyed running decently briskly together.  My quads and calves are still pretty tight (hmm… wonder why), but I am more than satisfied with my 21:43 time, which is right at a 7:00/mile pace.

Leave a Reply

