David Hancock 1/4 Ironman Triathlon – 2004

August 7, 2004

My semi-annual / annual triathlon.  Technically, I have done a multi-sport event just a couple of weeks ago.

It’s always funny to me, because basically when I do the event, the last time I swam or biked… was the event one year ago.

Strangely enough, though, I feel like I do reasonably well given that I haven’t practiced any of the disciplines for a year.

In the swim, I do a kilometer in 26:30 (breast stroke), and in the bike ride (28 miles), I do 2:16.

I am somewhat disappointed with the run – 61 minutes for 6.5 miles, but swimming and cycling does something to your legs that prevents you from running normally (much like running for 6 hours on trails can do something to do…).

Even though I typically come in last at this race, I really enjoy all of the people and the downhomie fun attitude of everyone (even the really competitive guys).  And then afterwards, there are those of us that stay after the event and talk and drink beer.  If I leave before 5pm (for a race that lasts from 6am to 10am!), then I have somewhere to be and don’t have time to talk with Wolf, David, and some of the cooler volunteers (like David’s mother, sister, wife and the others).

Leave a Reply

