LASAA Temple City Mug Run 10K – 2004

November 13, 2004

Temple City Mug Run is a somewhat boring street run, and it has 2.5 miles of uphill, some rolling hills and then mostly downhill to the finish.

There is a guy in my age group who is a year older and he typically beats me.  I decided to run a strategic race, because I wanted to beat him.  I used a similar tactic to what I used to beat my friend, Kevin, a few years ago, which is to bide my time, and maintain visual contact with my quarry.

I decided my best strategy is to lag slightly behind and then accelerate at the finish.  With my long legs, and the downhill finish, I beat him by 6 seconds – 43:56 – and good enough for a 2nd place medal!

Leave a Reply

