Run for Education 5K/10K – 2005

April 2, 2005

Just happened to notice that this is my 300th post, but not my 300th race, because as with this post, a number of my races are doubled-up.  Suffice it to say, with this post, I am OVER 300 races in a period of about 9 years.

This is a terribly exciting race at Compton Community College in Compton, California (a tongue twister if I ever saw one), with loops around the campus and loops around the industrial and (a tad) residential area.

I felt pretty good on the first race and managed 21:44 (first in my division), but in the second race, I developed a blister on my foot that was both painful and pace-slowing.  Despite my 48:05 time (still under 8:00/minute pace), I still managed to get 3rd in my age division.

And that is the special charm of small races!

Leave a Reply

