Way Too Cool 50K – 2005

March 12, 2005

Back up to Cool for another iteration of Way Too Cool.

The temperature was unusually warm for March.  I expect that the weather is going to be 40s or 50s, but it was mid-60s at the start.

With such warm weather, there was the expectation that the trails would be dry, but they were just as muddy as ever.  I guess a little bit of a hot spell following a rainstorm?

I am doing a little better with the cramping.  I only cramped once, and that was because I stumbled on rocks and roots.  Hitching myself backwards allowed me to not fall, but caused me to cramp.

I continued with my plan to walk on any section preceding a major hill (I believe in the 2004 post I visited this issue).  I managed my best Ball Bearing Hill result ever (0.7M/ 700′ elevation gain) of 13:40.

Overall, however, my time was slower than last year (each year slower than the last).  I happened to notice in the results how the age groups are separated out, and suddenly, I felt like it was unfair.

Usually, my biggest beef is on the top end.  In the Sheriff’s races, the top age group is 55+.  To me, this seems unfair to make 70 year-olds compete with 55 year-olds, because there can be a drop-off between age 55 and 70.

My age group at Way Too Cool is Male 34 & under!  I guess this is kind of like the 55+… except that there are not a lot of 89 year-olds competing, and conversely, there are few minors in this race, either.

The reason behind this sorting, at this point, is that there are few non-Masters competing in ultramarathons… though the trend seems to be changing, and there are younger and younger competitors.

I did do a comparison to my time in the M34&U and what it would have been in the M35-39 age group – 28th in the younger group, and 48th in the older group.  OK, OK… I’ll take the Male 34 and Under!

Leave a comment