ThomBob 1M Kayak/5K Run Relay – 2005

July 16, 2005

This is the first year in my history of doing this event of having the same partner two years in a row – Todd Rose.  We do a sight better than last year… mostly because Todd is paying attention and does not leave me in the lurch. Also, because I come up with the idea to duct tape my hands, so that the paddle does not wear a hole through my hand (the chafing can be pretty bad).

I have my usual struggle with the kayak portion, and it doesn’t make it any better when I am given advice on how I could do better.  If you are 6’6″ and thus are giving me advice, fine, but if you are 5’6″, don’t purport to know that you know my situation.

In the kayak, my legs should be at a 90 degree angle and straight, but the best I can manage is my knees at a 45-degree angle.  Thus I cannot get great leverage.  Stubby legged kayakers, don’t give me advice!

Leave a Reply

