Piedmont Turkey Trot 5K – 2005

November 24, 2005

This was my first race pushing my pace since the car accident.  I’m not certain what to expect, since I have been just walking and taking it easy.

I have run this race probably a dozen times (some as the Feet Meet when I was in Middle School and some as the Turkey Trot).  The course is fairly challenging, with a number of steep-ish uphill sections.  On the uphill sections, I have to breathe more deeply.  I find I have some difficulty in taking deep breaths, possibly due to the bruising on my chest from the accident.

All of the time recovering, plus my sore chest, contributes to a slower-than-usual time, but I am ecstatic with a 26:12.  This signifies to me that there is probably no lasting damage, and I can proceed with caution.

Leave a Reply

