Santa Anita 5K – 2006

April 8, 2006

Despite having a not-great experience doing this race half a dozen years ago (but meeting Tim Hickok for the first time), I decided to do the race again.

They have improved on the course a little bit and avoid pushing everyone into the Arboretum within the first half mile (the trails are narrow and cannot accommodate 2000 people at once running).  However, they still finish on the track, and if you read my prior posting, the track is 2 feet deep… and is great for horses to run in… but not so great for runners.

I manage a 22:12, which got me 8th place in my division at Seal Beach, but here is only good enough for 15th.  This is why I try and stick to the smaller races.

Leave a Reply

