Palos Verdes Marathon – 2006

May 20, 2006

My 4th year in a row running this awesome coastal marathon.

I continued with my strategy of the past 3 years to run the first mile as fast as possible.  Not ideal in your standard marathon, but the hill at Mile 1.8 is so steep that running it isn’t advisable, so why not use that 0.75M to recover from the first mile sprint?  Not surprisingly, my first mile was also my fastest mile of the race, with a time of 6:54.

Running the flat part of the course

Running the flat part of the course

My midway split was decent – 1:49, but with the muggy conditions, I was not destined to run a sub-4:00 marathon.  I think now that I have started doing ultramarathons that a sub-4:00 may not ever be in the cards again.

I finished in 4:13 (and did a 4-mile hash run in the afternoon).

The last mile or so.

The last mile or so.

 

Leave a Reply

