Boeing 5K (4) – 2008

June 9, 2008

This past weekend I have been up in Northern California.  It’s the 25th anniversary of the Piedmont Children’s Choir, a group that began as the Piedmont Boys Choir in our living room in 1982… and was started so that I could have the opportunity to sing with a group in the East Bay (and not have to travel to San Francisco after school 2 days a week (which I did with SF Boys Chorus from 1980 – 1982).  The Girls’ Choir was founded in 1983, so 2008 is the 25th anniversary.

I came up early so that I could rehearse and perform with the alumni choir.  It’s kinda funny because the youngest member of the alumni choir was just about to graduate from high school.  That meant that I was 19 years older than him.  The director, Bob Geary (who I had also sung with while with SFBC), was now 56 years old… or 19 years older than me.  I was actually slightly closer to Bob’s age than the youngest alumnus.  Egad!

Since I flew out of Long Beach Airport, I took the local bus that meets in front of Wilson HS – about a mile walk from my place.  And when I returned, I took that same bus and walked the mile (uphill) home.  Fortunately, I made it with enough time to change and drive out to do the Boeing 5K.

I was more than happy with my time of 22:27, given that I had done that walk and had been sitting on a plane in a jammed seat for an hour… and also because the past 2 months were a minute and 5 minutes slower.

Leave a Reply

