David Hancock Quarter Ironman Triathlon – 2008

August 3, 2008

A few days prior to the race, my friend Jimmy fixed up my 14-year old hybrid bike to make it easier to ride in the triathlon.  As a hybrid bike, it had knobby tires that don’t do as well as other bikes on regular pavement.  He replaced the tires (which, honestly, had holes in them) with road tires.  It can’t hurt.

I had my usual struggle with the swim, but felt stronger on the bike (the wheels moved better), but was pretty sore by the time I got to the run portion… but my friend Kim Russell biked alongside me while I ran.

I ended up being a few minutes off my best time… which is pretty good considering that I have been tapering for my ultra and that I also went back to work in downtown LA (until I train them how to operate the systems I put in place).

Leave a Reply

