Palos Verdes Marathon – 2008

May 17, 2008

My 7th (and final) year of running the Palos Verdes Marathon.  There was a good group of AREC people running the race, though most were in the half marathon category.

Even though we are on the coast, it was a less-than-ideal day for a run… pretty hot out.

I went with my previous strategy of running hard for the first 1.5 miles (to the hill) and then walking up the hill.  I walked up ALL the hills and finished under 4-1/2 hours (4:27:55).

In the past 3 months, I have done 3 marathon or longer races:  Way Too Cool 50K in March, American River 50M in April, and the Palos Verdes Marathon for May.

For each race, I was asked what my training regimen was and I responded that it was the previous race that prepared me for the next race.  I was also asked which hurt the most.

Surprisingly, Way Too Cool felt the best, because I didn’t cramp, had a comparable (albeit slower) time to the previous year (where I did cramp) and felt good afterward.  Obviously, the 50 miler was tough on the joints and feet, but ACTUALLY… doing the marathon on pavement hurt the most.  Yep… the marathon was the most painful!

Leave a Reply

