LA Cancer Challenge 10K – 2008

October 26, 2008

Ed Villalobos and I had made plans earlier in the week to go to the LA Cancer Challenge run at the VA and then go to the Hash run afterwards.

When I woke up Sunday morning, it was a bit foggy out.  I got an early start and headed over to Ed’s house (about 5 miles away), and I got really lost.  I should point out that I know where Ed’s house is and how to get there; however, I do not know how to get to Ed’s house in terms of how many blocks or that sort of direction.  I could tell you the freeway exit, and the streets that I turn on… but when you cannot read the street signs (because of dense fog), this makes it a lot harder.

I drove around in circles for a while, and then finally went back out to the main street and drove a couple of blocks, parked, and got out to look at street signs up close.  I ended up picking him up just on time, after being lost a few blocks away for 20 minutes.

The entire drive to LA on the freeway was in fairly dense fog (not as bad, probably due to the number of cars on the road defrosting the fog), but just as we got to the 10 freeway (the exit before the VA), the fog cleared up a bit.  We parked, as usual, on the street just outside the VA (free and easier to get to your car), and it was still foggy in that area.

This was by far one of the weirdest races I have been in.  The 10K is two loops, and each loop is a wide circle around each part of the VA grounds.  On the North of Wilshire Blvd. side, it was completely clear and sunny out.  On the South of Wilshire Blvd. side, it was 5 feet of visibility in fog.

I struggled a little on the sunny side and then recovered a little on the cool foggy side.  I ended up finishing in 45:56… and then waiting 30 minutes for Ed to finish so we could rush off and do a Halloween Hash run.  (13th!! in my age group)

Leave a Reply

