AREC Half Marathon – 2009

August 29, 2009

As part of our marathon / half marathon training program, AREC puts on a practice (though we count it as an official race) half marathon and 10K about 6 weeks prior to the actual marathon and half marathon race.

I decided to give it a try, even though it had been over SIX years since I had run a half marathon.  I know.  I can’t believe it, either.  I know most people do more than 6 half marathons IN a year… but ever since I started doing ultramarathons, a half marathon seems like a couple of wasted hours (especially with the expensive price of them nowadays).

I wasn’t sure what to expect, so went out at a moderate pace.  It was a bit overcast and I didn’t do so well in the muggy conditions.  I overheated fairly rapidly… and ended up using my ultramarathon skills in walking up all of the hills and just coasting.

In the end, I had a certain expectation of a time for myself, and came in, just under 2 hours.  I will say that I am neither elated nor upset with the time, because it’s a decent time and not bad considering that I hadn’t paced myself out for one in such a long time.

Leave a Reply

