Piedmont Turkey Trot 3M – 2009

November 26, 2009

I spent Thanksgiving in the Bay Area with my family.  It is weird, because I am going to be back next weekend for The North Face Ultra, so I will have two drives up and down California in the span of 10 days.

I ran the Piedmont Turkey Trot (which is really a version of the first race I ever ran in 6th grade – when I didn’t run) and my parents and sister bandit-walked it.

The best part of this race is that it is my hometown race, and anyone who is visiting their parents (yes, even 20 years after graduating from high school) will probably show up to run this event, plus some random people that I didn’t know lived in Piedmont.

One of the “random” people was Mark Gilligan, who I met in June in Santa Barbara for the Blue Canyon Trail Race.  We are about 4 months apart in age, but he is a much better runner than I am.  He is also the founder of UltraSignUp.com, which had been handling a number of online payments for ultramarathons.  We struck up a conversation about how I like his website so much better than Active.com, because they ask you a million question that are not germane to whatever you are signing up for.

We ended up figuring a way to utilize his website to process AREC memberships at a lower credit card charge than Active (and still use it).

Piedmont Turkey Trot is very hilly (Piedmont is named for “Pie d’ Mont,” which means ‘Foot of the Mountain,’ go figure), but I felt decent in the beginning, and even with walking the hills, I finished in 23:06, good enough for 78th overall (they listed the top 100 finishers online), but not good enough for top 3 in the 30-39 (never going to happen).

The highlight of the weekend, however, was going to the Disney Family Museum in San Francisco.  Fascinating.

Leave a Reply

