A Snail’s Pace Ekiden Relay – 2010

May 23, 2010

Skipped last week’s PV Marathon (again) because of Miwok.

However, I was game for the Snail’s Pace Ekiden Relay because it is random AND fun.

The first runner does 1 mile, the second 2 miles, the third 3 miles and the 4th 4 miles.  Who runs what and for what team is all done by random draw.

I have run this race several times and only once have I been drawn for under 3 miles (though once I traded because I was heading to a Dodgers game afterwards).  Today is no exception – I have 4 miles.

Running last is nice, because you can see how you are doing compared to the other teams.  If you have a chance of medalling, then you can turn it up or down based upon your position.  I was in fourth as I left, though the 3rd place team left probably 3 minutes before me.  Unless that person is walking, that’s a lot of time to make up in 4 miles (and me not being fully recovered).

The 3- and 4-mile loops both have a big hill between Miles 2 and 3 (and a downhill just before Mile 4), so you don’t make up any time on that section, but you do make up a little bit at the end.  During the run, my left side was sore (maybe favoring it over the right side where the IT-band issue is), but I ran through it and did not have any residual soreness.

I was happy with my 4 mile time of 30:30, but less happy that I was not able to maintain 4th place for my team (5th instead).  Despite not winning a useless award, I had a great time.

Leave a Reply

