La Palma 4th of July 10K – 2010

July 3, 2010

Back to La Palma once again for their 4th of July run (on July 3rd, since it is a Saturday).  This run still hasn’t gotten HUGE, like Redondo Beach and Huntington Beach.  Both of those are a ZOO… while La Palma feels homey.  I always park in the hospital clinic lot about 100 yards from the start (and it is always empty).  In fact, that’s what I directed Dona to do when we carpooled.

My goal, as always, is to have a decent result (not as my older friends say, ‘Run your age for a 10K…’ 39 minutes is NOT possible for me, and I suspect as I get older, my times will not improve down to my age).

The course is two loops, with the added difficulty of overtaking the 5K race (which starts simultaneously, but .15 miles ahead)… just trying to get through the walking crowd (there is still a crowd) is a mess and it forces you to overpace.

My finishing time ended up being 47:09, which was out of the running for a medal, but still under 8:00/mile pace.  It felt pretty hard on the pavement; I probably wasn’t as light on my feet as I could be.

Leave a Reply

