Golden West Classic 5K – 2010

September 24, 2010

Golden West coach Matt Simpson let me know that GWC was putting on an Invitational meet for the local Junior College Cross Country teams.  Since I am not currently working, I don’t have a problem with doing a 5K run at 10am on a Friday.

The course is a different course than Sunrise in the Park, but for the most part, I am really familiar with the course, and it includes the BIG hill.

There are three races:  Men’s, Women’s, and Other.  So it’s fortunate that I do not have to participate against JC men as I would probably be bringing up the rear (most are half my age at this point, so I don’t have a big issue with it, but it is a bit disheartening to run by yourself in a 3 mile race).

Most of the folks in the “Other” race are the assistant coaches, so in terms of age groups (but there are no awards), I am in no-man’s land, especially because most coaches are either well-aged, or fresh out of school.

Since it is September, it’s still pretty warm out, especially mid-day, and I immediately fall behind.  I guess the one positive I can take from this, is that the crowd of folks coming to cheer on their kids are giving me a pity-clap, pity-cheer for my effort.  (I am not entirely in the back, but trail most runners by a good margin.)  My finishing time is 26 minutes and change (not great), but it is a nice challenge for a short cross-country race.

Leave a Reply

