LMJS 4th Sunday 15K – 2010

November 28, 2010

Since I am in the Bay Area and it is the 4th Sunday, I am doing the Lake Merritt Joggers & Striders (LMJS) 15K.  This is a race I have won in the past, but unless I am the only competitor, I am not going for a win (since it has been one short week since I ran my ultra and have not run since that date).

The course is three loops around Lake Merritt, and there is also a 5K and a 10K run as well.  That means that with each ensuing lap, there are fewer and fewer competitors, but since it is not a closed course, you always have some company of locals or people just out exercising.

In the beginning, I went out too fast and my Left knee was twinging and I also had trouble breathing.  I re-paced and had a better effort on the other two laps, but I did get a bit thigh chafed (who knew that less than 10 miles could do that?).

My 5K splits were:  25:16, 25:18, and 25:02 for a total of 75:36… just barely out of the top spot (just kidding).  I didn’t even get a ribbon because my time was 4th in my age division.

Leave a Reply

