Piedmont Turkey Trot 3M – 2010

November 25, 2010

A few days after my ultra, I drove up to the Bay Area for Thanksgiving with my family.  A tradition the past few years is the Piedmont Turkey Trot.

Of course, I am not in the right shape to do well at it… this is another try-and-recover (almost) 5K run.  I decided that I would walk fast (pace walk) and see how it went.

The difficulty in doing this race as a racewalk, is that the course is not flat.  Race walking is great on a flat course; it is difficult to keep form with lots of ups and downs, and that is what this course is entirely made of.

I am pretty happy with my times (splits were 10:13, 11:45 (the really hilly section), and 10:16) which totaled 32:11.  That’s close to my 5K PR, except this was only 3 miles… so about 30 seconds off.

Leave a Reply

