Plano Pacers 5M – 2010

December 25, 2010

Yes, there really was a 5 mile race on Christmas Day.  Part of this is due to the fact that Plano Pacers hold a 5 mile race on the 4th Saturday of the month… doesn’t matter that it’s Christmas.  I wonder if there is going to be a big crowd or not.  From what I can tell, it’s the usual group, but maybe down in size a little bit.

Because of how my family has done Christmas the past few years, it is not a HUGE imposition for me to borrow my parents’ car and go do this race.  We don’t wake up at the crack of dawn to open presents.  My nephews (5 and 3) usually come over at about noon to open whatever we have for them.  Our present-opening takes place around 10:30 or 11:00 (after breakfast) and we are very methodical about it – one person opens a present, and then picks the next present to open and so on and so forth… until all are opened (or the nephews arrive).  Since the race is at 8am, I will be done by 9am, and home by 10am (the drive isn’t that far, but I want to get my award that I think I will get).

Last year, it was so cold at this event, that we had to wait a bit until they could re-route part of the course and put down salt to melt the icy sections.  While it is 37 degrees out (even colder than last weekend), the ground is not icy and therefore dangerous.

On the other hand, I am still having difficulty with breathing in the cold air, but my splits are 7:56, 8:13, 8:15, 8:01 and 7:48… so all hovering right around the 8:00/mile mark.  The surface today is a bit better than last weekend, but still hard on my knees.  My 40:13 time is good enough for 24th overall (of maybe 70) and first in the Clydesdale division (who all tend to be older).  Had I run in my age group, I think I would have been 5th.

Leave a Reply

