Rahl Rose Quintennial 5K – 2011

March 7, 2011

My 40th birthday!  And that also means that tomorrow Todd Rose will be 45.  Thus, today we are in the same age group for ONE day… so time for another Rahl Rose 5K.

Five years ago, we had about 8 participants and the wind was gusty as all get out.  This time, instead, we had Gusti (Lind)… but it was also windy, just not as bad.

I made special bibs for everyone who participated before – large laminated bibs with numbers 1 through 8 and the date and title of the race.  For Todd and myself, we had large bibs with the numbers 40 (me) and 44 (Todd).  For everyone else, I created mini-bibs.

The big 4-0!

The big 4-0!

As per my usual, Todd was faster than me, but I don’t think it helped that I missed the turn-around (I think it blew over in the wind!).

A rather creative variety of my friends (both AREC and hash) showed up to participate and Laura and Chuck provided “chip” timing (hope I can find that picture somewhere…) – they took tortilla chips, wrote people’s names on them and placed them on their shoes.  Very funny stuff.

I finished in 25:11 (respectable, considering I ran long and I ran 25K yesterday).  I was 10th overall, and 4th in my division (10×4 = …)… and there ended up being 40 people in the race overall.

Afterwards, many people joined me at Yankee Doodle’s for a drink, but only a few people were willing to do a Pub Crawl (on a Monday!).  What also didn’t help was that the bars were not open particularly late.

We went to Legends first and we were the only ones in there.  My friends (Tim Check, Kristie and Lisa) bought me a “tower of Guinness.”  Awesome.

After that, the only bar open was Panama Joe’s (probably my least favorite place on 2nd Street).  I was pretty buzzed, so had one beer and then some young ladies (probably in their mid-20s bought me some jello shots).  We called it a night at about 10:30. =(

At Legends

At Legends

Guinness!

Guinness!

Another Guinness!

Another Guinness!

Tim, Kristie, me and Lisa

Tim, Kristie, me and Lisa

No more pictures!

No more pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

