OCTC Pancake Breakfast 5K – 2011

July 31, 2011

Decided to do the OC Track Club Pancake Breakfast Run in Newport Beach.  I have had a bad few weeks in coming back from the Headlands 50M (or whatever the real distance was…).  For the most part, my breathing is sketchy… but that may have to do with getting back to normal after recovering for a week (and getting food poisoning).

This isn’t your typical 5K… it’s partially cross country, and there are a lot of hills.  My strategy today goes against my usual strategy which is to go comfortably on the flat, fast on the downhills and walk the uphills (well, I mean, against 5K strategy).  It’s hard to get passed on the uphill (because it is a 5K and I should be running!), but I am running against myself so I have to do what is best for me.

When I look at the results, I find that I was fast enough to earn a medal!  23:30 isn’t a bad time, but usually not an award-winning time.

Leave a Reply

