Conquer the Bridge 5.3M – 2011

September 5, 2011

My typical Labor Day run nowadays – Conquer the Bridge with 2000 of my closest friends.

I first ran this course in 2000… but it wasn’t in circulation for several years, due to 9/11 and restrictions on people being on bridge, other than just driving straight across.

This is my 4th race in the past 9 days, too.  I want to have a good run, but I don’t want to get myself back dependent on Advil (so no Advil today).

The weather is the “typical” CTB weather… unpredictable.  Driving up Anaheim Road (bridge is closed), the weather is a bit foggy and overcast.  It is starting to clear as we are starting the race… but it is also muggy… and then on the hot side as we were finishing.

As with the past few races, I am walking the major hills… CTB is two MAJOR hills… up and down the bridge.  I typically find that I can outrun anyone who passes me on the uphill, by running modestly faster on the downhills and flats.  My time was no faster than last year, but I am good with 45:06, because it is under 9:00/mile.

Leave a Reply

