Summer Nights 5K (3) – 2013

August 27, 2013

Now I have been fitted with a Holter Monitor.  It’s a 24/7 monitor of my heart rate and will find out if I have any irregular heartbeats.  Everyone thinks that it “tells me” if something is wrong, but it just records it.  It’s super awkward, mostly because I have 3 electrodes stuck on my chest (that I have to replace periodically, and often sweat off).  If I have an “episode,” I can press a button and it will specifically record it.  When I get home, then I dial it in (actually, I am supposed to dial in as soon as it happens, but there are few landlines available in the middle of a park), and someone records and tells me if I am OK, or need to go to the emergency room.

I had a decent start and did my first mile in 8:51, but then my back was bugging me, and got side stitches.  And… once again, my heart rate was elevated, so I did end up pressing the button, but when I got home, they said that it was nothing special.

I did have a nice ~7:00/mile pace for the last 0.1, but finished in an unremarkable 31:51.  I hope it’s the heat that is causing the elevated heart rate.

Leave a Reply

