Summer Nights 5K (1) – 2014

June 24, 2014

Last year, I did 3 of these 5K races at Heartwell Park in Long Beach.  They are put on by the Legacy Running Store (and this year also by the YMCA).

At the start, my knee felt a little off, so I started at the back conservatively.  At the first mile, the time called out was 7:04!!  So… I slowed down a little bit.

On the second lap, we turned back onto the path (which never happened in the past races), so I think that maybe the race was slightly short.  However, I will take a 23:17 time, especially on a cross country course.

Had there been age group awards, I would have placed 1st; however, there was not a large contingent of people in my age group..mostly high school runners… but that’s not for me to quibble about.

Leave a Reply

