Mary Kay 5K – 2014

October 4, 2014

Following my cross country race mishap, I took it pretty easy.  I had a big ultra coming up in a few weeks, and my trip to visit my family in Dallas would be the perfect opportunity to give my sore body a break.

However, the whole family had signed up to run the Mary Kay 5K, and I opted in for it.  I figured I could see where my body was at.

Before the 5K, there was the Kids’ 1M (or whatever the distance actually was).  Reagan ran with Riva and did pretty well.  His time was super fast (hence my comment above).

Now we were all ready to start.  Riva lined up near the front and I lined up somewhat near the front… with Mom, Dad and Reagan at the back (Marisa was with Evan at his soccer game.).

The race was immediately downhill (many big buildings in Dallas have roads running underneath them, so THIS is the downhill… because Dallas is pretty pretty flat), so it was a mess, especially with speed bumps underneath the building.  I moved carefully and thoughtfully around everyone and got into a good pace.

Once through the building undercrossing, it was up the other side, a U-turn, and then back down under the building and back up on the parallel road.  Ugh.  A short time later was the 1-mile marker – 7:46.

Next was a half-mile out-and-back section which was slightly downhill and slightly uphill on the way back.  It looks like Riva is the 4th woman overall… so far.

Now another half-mile out-and-back (but flat).  Riva still looks good, but is still in 4th.  Not sure if she can make up the stagger.  I get my 2nd mile in 7:40.

The last 1.1 mile stretch is… another repeat of the under-the-building section… meaning down-and-up twice, with an uphill finish.  I manage another 7:40 mile (plus the extra tenth) to finish in 23:50.

Since relatively few people have finished, I get in the pancake breakfast line and get a few pancakes and some bacon for Reagan, in case he wants some when he finishes (since there is no one to watch him, he is doing the 5K with Mom until Riva can finish and go back and run in with him.

Once I have my pancakes, then I head back out on the course to cheer Mom and Dad (and Reagan) in.  Dad is the first one I see and he is walking briskly.  He is competing in the 75+ age group (so hopefully he won’t be beaten by a bunch of 75-year olds).  Next comes Riva and Reagan.  He has gotten a second wind, running with his mom.  And Mom is not all that far behind.  I walk in with her.  She was having to encourage Reagan (tired, for sure, after his fast mile), but now she can really stride in to the finish.

Reagan doesn’t want the pancakes so I eat them… and then we go see if anyone has gotten a medal, so we can high-tail it to Reagan‘s soccer game.

Looks like Riva won the F40-44 (but not first Master like last year), Mom got 3rd in the F70-74 and Dad got 3rd in the M75+.  I am in 4th.  We convince them to give up the medals prior to the award ceremony.

Later, when we look up the awards at home, because the top Master finisher for the men was in my age group, I have been bumped up to 3rd in my division.  I don’t get a medal, but I’m not worried about it.  I am just happy that I have been able to run a decent time only a week after banging myself up.

Leave a Reply

