Halloween Marathon – 2015

October 31, 2015

Earlier this month, my friend Gilbert Barragan (Jr.), ran his first marathon.  I helped a bit with the training (bringing him needed ice-cold beers on the long runs), but his real assistance came in the form of Eddie Hahn, another hasher, who is also a Marathon Maniac.  Eddie ran with Gil the whole way and sent him on to a 5:00:22 marathon, a really good debut run.

I first met Eddie at a hash several years ago and we bonded on the fact that we had both had published articles in Marathon & Beyond Magazine. I think he got extra copies for me when his was published, too.

Eddie and I often have discussions about who has run more long distance races (he has, by far).  Mostly the discussion gets into actual mileage on races.  With my last ultra, my total full marathons and ultras totaled 101 (with 26 being marathons).  I think I have figured the total mileage is equivalent to 143 marathons.  Long Beach was Eddie’s 198th marathon.

All that being said, Eddie’s 50th birthday is next Saturday and he is running the Revel Canyon Marathon, and he wants it to be his 200th marathon.  Thus, he needs 1 marathon in between Long Beach and Revel so the numbers work out.

He decided to do a Charlie Alewine event, which is going to be loops somewhere in Long Beach.  I have done several of his races, but nothing recently.  I had told him that if he needed extra bodies to make the race “official.” (Marathon Maniacs has some standards as to what counts as an official race.  I think people were running “Virtual Marathons,” which is just you running and telling someone your time – to me, that is NOT a race, that is training.)  I was not wild about doing a cement loop marathon, but I was game to help out a friend… if I could get a decent deal on the race.

I made an arrangement with the race director (can’t tell you the rate, I promised) for a time-only rate (no shirt, no medal, no trophy – I don’t need those anyway), and I was in.

Because I am nuts, I decided to walk down to the race start from my house (about 2.5 miles).  When I arrived, Eddie (and Laura) were already out on the course.  I thought they were all doing the regular start, but everyone started early (except for me).  Laura’s marathon apparently included the mileage to and from her house (kinda that Virtual thing again).

The loop course started at the start of the bike path and then ran basically out to the end of the bike path (plus 200 yards past by the marina), and back.

I felt OK at the beginning, but started to get tired as the race progressed.  Each half loop was about a 5K (a little longer), so I could see how I started to fall apart as the race progressed.

First two sets:   32:13 and 31:42
Second two sets:  40:50 and 44:15

On my third set, Eddie walked with me.  I know it was really really slow.  He was pretty tolerant, but then again, he wants to run a good race next weekend, so why push it?
Third set:  48:34 and 51:57

Eddie finished and I went on to do my final loop.  I started seeing all the folks doing marathon training from TRH plus some TRIBE folks getting ready for the Arizona Ironman.

I had horrible blisters in such a bad place that I actually did at least a half mile by turning my right foot completely sideways and walking normally with my other foot.  Awkward.  Literally awkward.  A number of my friends out training asked if I needed assistance.  No, thank goodness I’m almost there!
Last set:  40:32 and 45:58

Total time was 5:36:53.  Pretty good considering that I walked 60% of it.  It also cements the fact that I don’t like running on cement.  Ouch.

Now I did have another 2.5 miles to walk home, but when Laura ran home to finish her marathon, she convinced Chuck to come pick me up and drive me back home.

Later that day, I walked to Chipotle for my free Boo-rito and then to K Dubs Halloween Party, and then homes, so I ended up getting in 35.6 miles for the day.

Afterword:  Since I was the only regular time marathon starter, I won the marathon (but I didn’t have the fastest time).  Eddie ran his fastest marathon in several years for his 200th/50th birthday run, and qualified for Boston.

Leave a Reply

