Rahl-Rose Quintennial 5K – 2016

March 7, 2016

Drove back to Long Beach on Sunday in order to make it back for my birthday race with Todd Rose and friends.

Today was also the day I had set aside to go car shopping, as I have to take the rental car back tomorrow.

I did my shopping on TrueCar and found the make and model of the car I wanted and printed out the offer sheet, then drove over to the dealer that had that car, which happened to be in Torrance.

I actually parked over at Trader Joe’s figuring that I would get a sandwich for lunch, because I had not eaten anything all day and would be hungry prior to the 5K.

I got to the dealership at 10am, test drove the car, and then worked on all the paperwork.  There were a few snafus, including them charging $50 more (despite saying that the TrueCar price was the actual price – they refunded me a month later when I asked), and wasted my time with detailing packages and dicking around with the warranties.

Since I still had the rental, the salesman drove my car – Hyundai Sonata Sport – back to Long Beach.  By the time everything was settled, it was 5:45pm… barely enough time to go and mark the turnaround on the course.  Fortunately, I had stopped and got a Cuban Pork sandwich at TJ’s.

By the time I got back to the BBC parking lot, a few people were already there.  Not as many people as I’d hoped, probably because it was so cold and windy, but we still got 20 brave souls.

I made special commemorative bibs for everyone, small bibs for “new” folks, and big bibs for Legacies (who ran in 2006 and 2011) and for Todd and myself.  Two Legacies did not make it – Tam and Zack.  Laura and Chuck did make it back for a third consecutive run (guess they’ll move up to Numbers 1 and 2 if we have another event).  Todd had Number 49, and I had Number 45.

Normally, I would not run any race post ultra, because my muscles and their microtears have not had a chance to repair themselves.  But this is a special deal.

This was reminiscent of 2006 where you couldn’t even talk because it was so windy, and everyone ran negative splits.

Immediately, four of us went out pretty fast, but I could not hold on with Tom, JT, and Brian Conboy, but they got me off to a fast start.

There was certainly wind swirling around and there were sections of the pedestrian path which were totally covered by sand (and one section with a paved path to tiptoe through).

The Bensons caught me around the turnaround.  I let Emily go.  Even if she doesn’t run a PR, I don’t need to go that fast.  I also let Ralph pass me.  Maybe I have a chance to comeback on him if I have anything left.

Just before the pier, Todd catches up to me. (This race is never close, but I always make a go of it, so to see Todd less than a mile from the end… well, this is a close race now.)  He says that he has nothing left.  I’ve been at “nothing left” for most of the run and I am positive that I cannot catch him.

Well, and especially because it’s a slight uphill to the pier, a couple of bends and then a downhill finish.  I think I might be able to catch Ralph, though, and do, just before the finish.

Because of the wind, I am 13 minutes out and 10 minutes back.  Todd beats me by just 12 seconds this time.  Five more years before I can try again.

Afterwards, we head inside the BBC for some post-race refreshments.  One Long Beach Crude and that’s it for me.

So happy birthday to me and Todd and welcome to the family, my beautiful cobalt blue Sonata!

Leave a Reply

