Boeing 5K (7) – 2016

July 11, 2016

All weekend I volunteered at the Santa Barbara 100M/100K.  It’s always so inspirational to watch people finish this race, because it is so difficult.  (I have run some similar courses in here and had mixed results.)  You think of Santa Barbara of having a temperate clime, but this is not the coast.

Things went better this year, logistically speaking.  Less confusion, better radio reporting, less running around with chicken heads chopped off.

I was up almost the entire time (36+ hours), so I don’t expect a great run this morning, but would like something comparable to last week’s 5K or 10K races.

First mile was 7:37 and second mile was 8:01.

For my third mile, since I was destined to finish under 8:00/mile pace, I slowed down a bit.  Why?  Because today is a prediction run and I had predicted 24:47 (sub-8:00 pace) and knew I would be less close to that unless I slowed down… so last 1.1 mile was in 8:54 and I finished in 24:35.

Leave a Reply

